Skip to content
September 7, 2011 / John Sieger

The Plan

Click: The Plan

 

Raucous, noisy and disorganized, just like my mind. I have been trying over the last few months to practice meditation. In doing this, I have been introduced to an amusing and somewhat dangerous beehive that lives between my ears. Like the bumper sticker says, “Don’t believe everything you think.” Truer words were never slapped on chrome. This one came to me sometime this year as I was falling in love with either my current Gibson acoustic guitar or the pretty lovable one I traded for it. To say I am branded Gibson when it comes to acoustics is an accurate statement. When you have a muse for a guitar, the task of writing songs becomes that much easier. Anyway, this little workout features some demented and mostly inappropriate slide guitar. There is also an old Eko that I have strung high, Nashville style, to get something between a twelve string and a mandolin sound without blowing too much money. The song is in that category, one that is dear to my heart, of tunes that steadfastly refuse to grow a bridge somewhere in the middle just to seem more important or “finished.” Importance would spoil the mood.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a comment