Skip to content
September 2, 2011 / John Sieger

You Belong To Someone Else

Click: You Belong To Someone Else

 

A pretty ballad and that’s the problem—I have too many of them. I have to fight my inner balladeer all the time, if left to my own devices, the beats per minute would never get above 80! This is another song from PRETTY, the project from a few years back that I scratched because I just couldn’t get past certain limitations that I can’t even hear now! The overall mood though was what really killed it. There might be room for one, maybe two pieces like this on a recording, but PRETTY was pretty much like this start to finish! And it really starts to wear you down after the third or fourth musical mope. I should have called it PITY PARTY! Now, having thoroughly evicerated this poor song, let me say that I am still quite proud of it and moved listening to it. It’s association with too many of it’s own kind was my fault, not the song’s. It would work much better as a quiet interlude on a more uptempo collection. The lyrics byMichael Feldman are very direct and the simple chorus says the painful words that can be found at the center of any sad love song: You belong to someone else. Ouch!

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

