Skip to content
August 26, 2011 / John Sieger

My Great Reward

Click: Great Reward

 

Semi-Twang rehearsing almost two years ago, preparing for our reunion gig at Shank Hall. Not having played together for almost twenty years and the layoff felt more like three weeks. It’s just amazing. When people ask me what it is that Michael Feldman does that is so good, I always think of this funny and right-on lyric. I would never in a million years have come up with something like this. His imagination runs on a whole other set of tracks from mine and yet, when I see a lyric like this, I recognize it instantly. It’s like it’s been there all along. This is one I want to nail for the next recording, it’s so much fun to play live and I often feel sorry for other bands who don’t get to play this song in their set. (I’m sure the feeling is mutual and probably for reasons I’d rather not know.) Here are the lyrics, top to bottom, something I haven’t done often and don’t plan to do too much in the future. If you like the A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A-A rhyme scheme, this one’s for you.

My Great Reward

There’s a line of clouds I’m heading toward / On the way to my great reward / Everything I owned I went and stored / Now I want my great reward / Just like Jesse James like Henry Ford / Just like the lover like the one adored / I paid as much as I can afford / Now I want my great reward / I’m volunteering on my own accord / Beam me up pipe me on board / Just show me some sands on foreign shores / Where I’m gonna meet my great reward

Phew! Add Jason’s Klagstad’s scorcher of a solo and you have a smokin’ little number… Praise the Lord!

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

