Skip to content
August 23, 2011 / John Sieger

Just A Train

Click: Just A Train

 

Glaring omission week, apparently. This hasn’t been posted? Are you kidding me, John Sieger? I now see how you got your nickname, “Mr. Thorough.” In a way, this works in my favor, having skipped a lot of my favorites and put up many rough demos and a few OK, but not great ideas, I must have thought myself out of posting some finished product that actually sounds finished. This tale is about a trainophobic damsel in distress and, as her story unwinds, the narrator consults with the conductor and the porter about her delicate condition. He doesn’t talk to the engineer because he’s busy driving the train. A lot of steering and horn tooting goes into that job. This is one of the oldest songs I do, written about the time I started collaborating with Micheael Feldman. Working with Mike had an effect on me—it kind of popped the cork in my head and songs started flying out. I started writing lyrics with more confidence and a clearer idea of what I wanted to say, basically trying to imitate him. I really stumbled onto this idea, but once it was done, it seemed to have been around for a long time. I think that’s what I’m always looking for in a song. Semi-Twang, by the way, plays the heck out of it on our Wages Of Sin CD. Check out Jason Klagstad on wah-wah resonator guitar!

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

