Skip to content
August 21, 2011 / John Sieger

Yes I Will

Click: Yes I Will

There might be something wrong with my system. I could swear I had posted this song, but a thorough search turns up nothing. At this point in Tune Du Jour I’m surprised to still find it available. This is a rehearsal I recorded last summer when I was faced with the daunting task of opening solo for John Hiatt and his band in a theater in Madison. To turn that gig down (which, believe me, I contemplated) would have been a cowardly act of surrender. But to accept it meant some serious attention needed to be paid. I like playing solo but I rarely do it. When I do, it’s mostly in rooms that are small, intimate and focused on music. This was a different beast, so I headed to the bat cave, turned on the recording machines and practiced, practiced and practiced. The song is about 15 years old—I guess I was going for a Johnny Cash meets Bob Dylan vibe. You may not hear that, but add Luther Perkins on Telecaster and it might make sense. It is a very simple riff and an even simpler structure and it leans heavily on lyrics, which are an almost macho affirmation of love. It always feels good to sing this but I’m still trying to get a satisfactory recording. Both Semi-Twang and The Subcontinentals have taken a swing at this tune and while I like both versions, I have yet to find a place for it on either of those CDs. It always seems to be the odd man out, but that could change next time.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

