Skip to content
August 10, 2011 / John Sieger

Might Be Better

Click: Might Be Better

More pop music in a slightly darkish mood from Quiver. Crawling out of a post-partum depression after WB dropped my band, I was actually writing these songs before that happened, as the door was slowly closing over the course of a year or so. I hope I snuck a few laughs in there and some of it can be viewed as black humor, but to tell the truth, I was mostly in a black, humorless mood at the time. Like all of life, though, good things were going on at the same time—but I was sometimes too wrapped up in my own story too acknowledge or respond to them. I’ll have to remember that today as I look at the disappointing election results. The republicans held on in the recall and, while it it might be better for them and their privileged friends, I worry how this will play out for people struggling to get by, especially in the inner city. How they get working class people to vote for their agenda, using fear and “family” issues, is one of modern life’s most amazing and baffling tricks, but we need to stay positive and regroup. We’ll get them next time. Back to music… This track is slinky and sinister in an early ’90s way. Again the Mikes, Sieger and Hoffmann, deliver some seriously weird funk to the proceedings. Mike Sieger’s bass is snarky, melodic and cool while Mike Hoffmann gets some of his signature guitar hooks in there again. Bob Jennings should not go unpraised either, he was always the orchestrator in Semi-Twang and the R&B Cadets, laying in well thought out keyboard and horn parts and he does the same here. I remember he had a new synth at the time and some of the patches, including this one, sound like a Mellotron. Joe Bonadio, in from NYC with his piccolo snare  and immaculate groove—an extraordinary player in every way. So, summing up for the jury: Great players, I like the song, but I’m glad I don’t have to sing it every night… the mood is just to heavy!

© 2011 John Sieger

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. dave standridge / Aug 10 2011 10:13 am

    Tom Petty couldn’t do it any better than this.

Leave a Reply

