Skip to content
August 2, 2011 / John Sieger

All Grown Up

Click: All Grown Up

This dates back to the ’80s and is from Semi-Twang’s debut album Salty Tears. I have very specific memories of writing it and I knew I liked it as soon as it was finished. It has a nice balance of story and melody and has a happy, upbeat feel, not something I was doing often back then. It reflected an interesting time in my life when things were looking up and I was always looking forward to making music. When Semi-Twang does this live, the instrumental part is more of a singalong. In certain spaces it just seems to lift everything and everyone around me right off the ground and makes for one of my favorite moments. Semi-Twang’s original recording actually works better than this production, and it illustrates atricky concept called demo-itis. When A&R people listened to our demos back then, they got very excited. Trying to translate that texcitement to a recording was difficult and, in this case, it got needlessly complex and over-thought. Mitchell Froom who produced the bulk of Salty Tears was a very “signature” producer at the time. He put his stamp on the Del Fuegos and Crowded House before us and, working with legendary engineer Tchad Blake, managed to make something that said more about their tastes than ours. I could have chimed in, but I was a very deferential artist back then. Other parts of Salty Tears work wonderfully, and this song will probably sound fine to you—but I know the lift it gives me live is missing here.

© 2011 John Sieger

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. John Radtke / Aug 2 2011 12:43 pm

    Very well stated. Great songwriting will always shine through any production and that is certainly the case here. Maybe you can put Mr. Hoffmann in a time machine and go back and remaster this one!

    • John Sieger / Aug 4 2011 8:24 am

      I like the time machine idea. I just want to go back and grab some of that $ that was being tossed around!

Leave a Reply

