Skip to content
July 19, 2011 / John Sieger

20 To Life

Click: 20 To Life

A three way collaboration with Micael Feldman and Paul Cebar. Somewhere along the line, I ran out of gas trying to finish this. I get way more lyrics from Mike than I can ever get done and this one was halfway to the finish line when I mentioned it to Paul. I have written a couple things with Mr. Cebar and he is always a good guy to go toe to toe with, never short on ideas. This one is a tale of domestic non-bliss, one in which the marriage vows are more like a sentence. The poor sap in the song is hoping for a little time off for good behavior, but that doesn’t seem likely. The musical hook, if you want to call it that, is a rhythmic shift, cutting back and forth between double time and back. Is it fast or is it slow? The drummer is either me or my son, Sam. He could probably tell you. At the time, I could almost play as well as him, now it’s not even close. He’s quite the rockin’ young lad.

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman/Paul Cebar

Leave a Reply

