Skip to content
July 7, 2011 / John Sieger

The Vicar

Click: The Vicar

Calling all Irish tenors—this song is for you to sing. I gave it my best reading, but this is not what I do. I would love to hear The Pogues doing this. The first line of this song occurred to me yesterday and it was quite a while before I had the second. Then it was quite a while before I was sure I wanted to write this—like I said, I don’t often do this kind of thing. Once I decided to go forward with it, I wrote all the lyrics. Normally I would have a guitar in my hands with a melody and a chord progression already pretty much done. But this song isn’t about the music so much, it is about words. If anyone has written a song about pedophile priests, I have yet to hear it and that topic is near and dear to my heart as a former altar boy. There was no scandal at St. Mark’s Parish in Kenosha, but I feel for anyone who was victim. The church recently blamed the atmosphere of free love in the sixties in an argument so specious and self-serving it beggars the imagination. I think it’s obvious that there was a lot of this going on and worse yet, a coverup of Watergate proportions was perpetrated. For this, a special place in hell for those who ruined young lives and those who helped to hide the problem by reassigning the predators.

© 2011 John Sieger

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tony roscioli-greco / Jul 8 2011 3:02 pm

    Keep the songs comming John, really like your stuff. Tell Mike I said hello.

  2. John Sieger / Jul 8 2011 5:10 pm

    Thanks Tony. You canj tell we go back to catholic schools sometimes!

Leave a Reply

