Skip to content
June 30, 2011 / John Sieger

When My Angel Smiles

Click: When My Angel Smiles

I couldn’t have put this string together better if I planned it, which I didn’t. It’s been devil, wolf, devil and today, angel. I’ve been searching this blog for titles from Live At Bob’s and finding I have somehow forgotten to post what I consider some of my old standby songs. To find this one unblogged is especially shocking—it is one of the first songs I wrote that I like and can still sing. In fact, it appears in a very different version on the new Semi-Twang CD. I was in my mid twenties when I wrote this and hanging out at bar in my home town called Mockus Tap. There was a small stage, cheap beer and a few folkies and singer/songwriters performing. I met a lot of good players there—sadly, some of them, including Clark and Grant Anderson, are no longer with us. I was still trying to find myself musically and sorting through all my influences as I struggled to write songs. This one occurred to me about the same time as one called River Of Steel and they seemed like ideas that would work in solo acoustic way, so I headed over to Mockus to try them out. They seemed to go over. Though this one is a little embarrassing in the lyric department, they were written by the young romantic I was then and I wouldn’t want to change a word to cast younger John in a more flattering light. It’s OK at that age to not be cynical. It’s OK at any age.

© 2011 John Sieger

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Richard Fitzgerald / Jun 30 2011 10:34 am

    John, I remember this one. What happened to Clark and Grant?

    • John Sieger / Jun 30 2011 4:57 pm

      Sorry to say their early bad habits caught up. They both had Hepatitus and I believe Grant had cancer. Clark died last year, Grant a couple back. Iwasn’t really in touch, but I heard.

      • Richard Fitzgerald / Jul 1 2011 9:27 pm

        Wow. Sad to hear that. Mike told me a week or so ago about Brian Schwallen. I wonder sometimes if I just beat the devil by a hair. I’m grateful to the few folks like yourself who strongly suggested I release the lip-lock on the bottle. It took a while, but it’s better than it was.

  2. John Sieger / Jul 1 2011 10:53 pm

    You didn’t have the makings of a great alkie… too much talent! I flirted with that too.

Leave a Reply

