Skip to content
June 28, 2011 / John Sieger

House Of Cards

Click: House Of Cards


Another glaring omission and just when I think I’m scraping the bottom of the barrel. My earlier TDJ policy was to not use too many songs from my CDs, but while I’ve been rummaging through my archives I’ve found that I’ve let some of my favorites go unposted. I’m especially happy with this song and, in particular, this version from Live At Bob’s. While it’s been around forever, I never captured what I wanted until we made this recording. It was such a blast to do this show with my brother Mike Sieger, Bill Dwyer and special guest Kelli Gonzalez (not on this song). Bill and I both solo on this, and the changes we play over are something I’m really proud of. For the music geek out there, the bass line touches all the bases (pun intended) in a chromatic scale from one to five. It’s a variation on Fats Waller’s Ain’t Misbehavin’, a song that always fascinated me. The middle eight of that song has been cited as one of the greatest ever. My middle eight will never win any awards, especially since it’s only four measures. In my game of hide the influences, I tried hard to conceal my debt to Fats and Elvis Costello… I’m not sure anyone would hear either, but it feels transparently obvious to me. I don’t expect any law suits, though. Not for that, anyway.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

