Skip to content
June 19, 2011 / John Sieger

Close Quarters

Click: Close Quarters

Last fall, for over a month, I went into the cramped powder room between our kitchen and the garage and stayed in there with my guitar until I had a song. It was an acoustically perfect environment with lots of privacy. Nylon strings sounded stupendous in there. But it offered, as I’m sure you can imagine, very little comfort. It did result in some songs that didn’t sound like they would have been written in such a place, many of which I have already posted here. I was surprised to find that this one wasn’t, given it’s title and the somewhat sly reference to my little hideaway. Sometimes you get the first line and the rest of the song is just a formality, sort of like filling out paperwork. This was one of those. When I thought of In a room so small you wear it, I knew I had it knocked. Another funny thing happened over the course of that claustrophobic month, I began to feel march rhythms creeping into my music. This one is a pretty good example—not exactly Sousa, but stirring and lots of forward thrust. I mentioned to the songwriters in my clinic that if they wanted to save money, they should lock themselves in a tiny room with no escape until a song is written. One of them. Patrick Gillick, came back the next week with a song called Sit On The Jake, about writing in the W.C. Pretty funny, too!

© 2011 John Sieger

NOTE: There is now a searchable calendar underneath the John F Sieger Library. Two ways to search for songs. If you are looking for a particular song, let me know and I will will send you the date or a link.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. mlballpark / Jun 20 2011 9:41 am

    I see that the John F Sieger Library has been officially commissioned. Can you give me an update on the status of the John F Sieger Gardens?

Leave a Reply

