Skip to content
June 12, 2011 / John Sieger

Kidnap You Baby

Click: Kidnap You Baby MP3

Kidnapping, as we know, is a major felony in at least half of the states. (If I remember correctly, it’s actually encouraged in Alaska.) So please don’t let this song influence your behavior. Listening closely, you can hear a pro-dancing message that is much more positive than the title implies. I wrote this while I was still in a great dance band, The R&B Cadets and was inspired by scenes from the dance floor in front of us. The Cadets came at the tail end of the disco era and, although we were far from that as can be, the material we did encouraged booty shaking. This song has sat in my brain since those days. I don’t think I ever got a recording with the band, so I went down to the cave today and cut this little demo. The background vocal part used to be a nifty sax and guitar unison thing and it had way more muscle than this fey creation. But I like fey.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

