Skip to content
June 7, 2011 / John Sieger

Little Ranchette

Click: Little Ranchette

Have you ever been extremely proud of a riff you wrote? I feel a pride bordering on hubris for this one. Which is fulfilling, because my whole life I have been obsessed with songs based on catchy guitar hooks, Satisfaction, Day Tripper, Pretty Woman, You Really Got Me, Heart Full Of Soul being prime examples. (Odd how many of them came from across the pond.) My entrance in the sweepstakes is this tune which has a very simple riff to play and a very hard one to record at the same time. This recording from The Subcontinentals CD, The Early Years, is a suburban pastoral. Mid-Century Modern, outskirts of town, kind of place that sells for way too much nowadays. Occupied by Pierre and The Mademoiselle, the coolerator stocked with ice cold soda, put yourself in that picture and it doesn’t seem so bad. I’d love to have Nick Lowe to produce this, or maybe Dave Edmunds from 1986. I’d like Steve Cropper to take that Tele out of my hands and play it right and if Al Jackson could come back for one last session, I would make it worth his while. I don’t ask for much, do I?

© 2011 John Sieger

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Richard Fitzgerald / Jun 7 2011 10:13 am

    John, remember “Stovette Rotisserie” when we painted Kenny’s ma’s house? The appliance in the basement when we were mixing paint?

  2. mikey / Jun 16 2011 10:03 pm

    this is a great song and should be our national anthem

Leave a Reply

