Skip to content
June 5, 2011 / John Sieger

Stars That Burn All Night

Click: Stars That Burn All Night

Sing along:

Dreams of palms and coffee / Waiters all in white / Beaches filled with blazing sand / Stars that burn all night / Beauty on my left arm / Moonglow on my right / Days that stretch to the sea / Stars that burn all night / Rolling on the ocean / Bobbing on the ride / Coming and going / Ebbing and flowing / Like the tide / Water water so blue / Never seen the like / Hidden eyes in the deep /Stars that burn all night

Please Michael Feldman, tell me where this came from. When I first saw this lyric back in the late ’70s, I was stunned. It was so beautiful and so simple and so impossible. While I like the music and the melody I came up with, all credit must go  to M.F. for a truly inspired lyric. I demoed it on my four track cassette a few years later with Peter Roller playing an excellent lap steel and the inimitable Rip Tenor on on his namesake tenor saxophone. The drum machine is both blatant and irresistible to me. After you get over the shock of hearing it, it kind of disappears. I plan to get this one recorded properly one day, it’s very special to me. Until I do, I’ll go with this version, which gets the idea across despite a near record signal to noise ratio.

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

