Skip to content
June 3, 2011 / John Sieger

Stealin’ Home

Click: Stealin’ Home

This song is over in about the same time it would take to run from third base to home plate. Left unfinished, it was written on spec but never got the green light. Playing and writing songs to try and please marketing people is possibly be the worst reason to make music. Just think of the infinite amount of ways that could produce annoying music. Then, in that perverse world where everything is upside down and backwards, the very worst song would be selected and sent out in the world to torture innocent ears. Don’t tell me it hasn’t happened! Luckily for me and my soul, my instincts keep forcing me to write songs I like, the marketing kiss of death. I was silly enough to think it would be fun to hear Stealing Home at a ball park, especially if someone actually accomplished that rare feat. What I like about the title phrase is that it actually sounds like a an old blues title, so the entendre gets doubled. This song would be worth finishing, it’s my favorite out of the baseball songs I wrote and it is on my to-do list—just not near enough to the top to get done. To finish all these songs I would need a big cushy pile of marketing money so I could hunker down and write. You will probably see someone steal home before that happens.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

