Skip to content
June 1, 2011 / John Sieger

Big Big Man

Click: Big Big Man

How can anyone not like Prince Fielder? He’s big, he swats home runs and he is an interesting guy. He became a vegetarian a couple years ago—I’m not sure if he still is, but that is so un-baseball. Like not chewing tobacco. He has baseball in his blood, his father being another slugger, Cecil Fielder. Thing is, he doesn’t talk to his dad, who apparently was largely absent. I hope they can make up and swap stories someday. But I sure don’t think I would want to get between them if they ever decide to sort things out. This is another written-on-spec baseball tune. I drew upon some fantasy I have of a game long gone, one that resembles The Natural or Field Of Dreams. Before steroids, luxury boxes and sports agents, I guess. I prefer the old vices like cigar smoking and playing hung over. Traditionalist, you might say.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

