Skip to content
May 28, 2011 / John Sieger

I Don’t Need It Done

Click: Don’t Need It Done

This is Semi-Twang rehearsing for their reunion gig at Shank Hall in November of 2009. The chemistry of the original band was found to be intact after a twenty-plus year layoff. The song was written before that band was even a glimmer and I can remember the R&B Cadets rehearsing it for the first time at a large hall we used in Racine at the DeKoven complex. That song resonating in that room gave me a crazy feeling, like I was channeling the Killer himself, Jerry Lee Lewis. When that idea came to me, it was all about as Jerry Lee—the swagger, if not so much the turn-down. I’m trying to imagine Jerry Lee turning down a beautiful and available lady and it’s hard. That was kind of the idea, science fiction meets honky-tonk, where your typical man finds it easy to walk away from temptation. Of course it was all speculation on my part, that situation on was not a regular occurrence in my lonely bachelor life back then. My dream of Jerry Lee singing it has yet to happen, but about four years after I wrote it, Dwight Yoakam sang it and it was a humbling experience. In that brilliant Pete Anderson production, Dwight shows just why he is considered a singer’s singer. We’ll listen to that tomorrow—as for this version, for a run through at rehearsal, I think it’s pretty good.

© 2011 John Sieger

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jim Rakowiecki / May 29 2011 8:50 pm

    Clearly this is the way the song should be done. I’m not sure who the other guy is but there is just no comparison to be made. He should probably look into singing lessons.

    • John Sieger / May 30 2011 12:15 am

      Some hack lounge singer, I suspect.

Leave a Reply

