Skip to content
May 21, 2011 / John Sieger

I Ain’t Gonna Drink My Coffee Black No More

Click: I Ain’t Gonna Drink My Coffee Black No More

I sit here with my morning cup of BLACK coffee in front of me thinking what to write about this song. It’s obvious I don’t live the words I write and, at least on some caffeinated level, I am a hypocrite. I think I can live with that… also, I have been known, later in the day or after a gig, to have a nice sweet and creamy concoction for the drive home. This song happened along towards the end of Semi-Twang’s first era and the little lick after the title in each verse is a direct steal from Mike Hoffmann, who has a way with signature licks. Sorry Mike! It was recorded in Nashville for my CD El Supremo using a crack band that included Joan Besen of Prairie Oyster on Wurlitzer and Dave Jacques, who plays with an up-and-coming young talent by the name of John Prine, on bass. On the saxophone is Dennis Taylor, a fantastic musician who left this world unexpectedly last year. He was on tour with Delbert McClinton when he had a heart attack and he was gone by the time they reached the hospital. This news sent shock waves around Nashville and the Rhythm & Blues world he traveled in. He was more than a great player, he was a mellow, funny guy and he was loved by a lot of people. I wish I could have done more with him and gotten to know him better, but I can listen to this song and the great horn arrangement and think very pleasant thoughts of him. He went out doing what he loved.

© 2011 John Sieger

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Annie Dubats / May 22 2011 2:28 pm

    Great Groove!!!

Leave a Reply

