Skip to content
May 14, 2011 / John Sieger

Broken Record Blues

Click: Broken Record Blues

Written, recorded and posted today. This is an audition for a 1964 Gibson Country & Western big-bodied acoustic I’m pretty sure I want to buy. I’ve been searching for a Holy Grail type of acoustic and this one is probably it. It has all the things I look for in an acoustic—it’s old, it’s a Gibson, it plays like a dream and it sings. This is the kind of guitar that you can almost hear when you’re looking at it. The song started as a little noodle I was playing with and when I went to get coffee in the kitchen I caught just a fraction of a story on NPR about old blues songs written about the big flood in Mississippi in 1927. I either heard someone say something about “broken record blues,” or I imagined I did. (They just replayed the story, the song was Broken Levee Blues!) I was searching for some words to sing and these seemed to fit, so I headed back to the smallest room in the house to finish the tune. It turned out it was very hard to play and sing, so I had to record guitar and voice separately on to two tracks. You might notice one place towards the end where I had to edit and the words have the wrong music behind them. I would fix this if I didn’t 7,000 things to attend to on this gloomy day, when everybody is feeling like Wisconsin’s weather is a bit of a broken record.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

