Skip to content
May 2, 2011 / John Sieger

The Fat Lady Sings

Click: The Fat Lady Sings

NOTE: This song was chosen before a certain despicable villain met his supposed 72 virgins. I hope they all look like the hottie above.

The expression “It  ain’t over till the fat lady sings” was just laying there begging to be written. I was astounded that I couldn’t think of any songs by that title. I’m sure if I google it now, I’ll come across twenty or thirty examples, but this was long before search engines and I just had to assume. Why do research when it’s inconvenient? In fact, why do research? It’s a song, not a newspaper article. There is a little  hitch in the rhythm giddy-up, the second bar in each verse is in 2/4. This was done unconsciously—when I chart out my songs, I sometimes come across this little tic. I don’t know what it means, only that it screws up guitarists and keyboard players more than it does drummers, who can play right through it. It’s what musicians call a land mine. This is another song I would file under “couldn’t possibly exist without Bob Dylan.” It may not strike anyone other than me as Dylanish, but it was part of my effort to work around the mountain of Zimmerman that stands in front of anyone attempting to write  songs. He just turned seventy and I hope he doesn’t hear the fat lady sing for long, long time. Happy Birthday Bob!

For the origin of the expression, click here.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

