Skip to content
May 1, 2011 / John Sieger

Short Order Girl

Click: Short Order Girl

This is hot off the griddle, I cooked it up yesterday with a little help from my personal Ira Gershwin, Michael Feldman. Last week he sent me a lyric called Short Order Cook, and like I do many times, I struck out on the music. So it stayed a poem, I guess. And it also stayed on my mind. It had may things I liked but I couldn’t figure it out. Yesterday, without looking at his lyrics, I wrote this. I thought for my purposes, Short Order Girl worked a little better, “girl” is such a musical word. The rest flowed out like pancake batter, including the two movie stars. That was kind of stolen from Woody Guthrie by way of Wilco and Billy Bragg. All in all, this song about a crush at the local diner owes much to Mike and Woody. In Mike’s case, I have to admit it’s a solid co-write, if only for the inspiration. That can be one item on the songwriter’s menu that is in short supply.

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Annie Dubats / May 1 2011 11:30 am

    Driving back and forth ‘cross the country, I know the girl, I know the diner and the guy in the booth. What a wonderful picture, John.

Leave a Reply

