Skip to content
April 30, 2011 / John Sieger

Things I Said To You

Click: Things I Said To You


Today I have to remind myself that this is only a blog. There are things I can put here that I wouldn’t include on a recording without a serious makeover. This song is from a group I wrote with Michael Feldman a few years back and was going to collect on a CD called Pretty. There was going to be one called Ugly also. My co-producer Mark McCraw was extremely helpful with this batch and we did complete the project. After a few hard listening sessions though, I decided to shelve it. There were too many songs that didn’t achieve escape velocity and in all those cases, the problem was an underpowered performance on my part. This vocal is mostly OK, but the first verse makes me cringe. If I’m cringing, I can definitely imagine others doing so and if that was what I wanted to do for a living, I would probably go into politics. What makes me cringe? There is a note of self-pity I can’t live with and that emotion has to be dealt with in a humorous way to be allowed out into the world. The general lack of energy in the track, along with the weepy vocal, doomed it for me and that’s too bad because there really is a song in there that I like a lot. I am now in a place where I feel I could rerecord and improve a lot of material that needs a second chance, but I have very little time to get back to things like this. So they remain in limbo, worthy of a blog post, but not quite record-quality.

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Annie Dubats / May 1 2011 11:49 am

    I like the tension of the “ferris wheel” type background against the regret of the lyrics- like the showboat has pulled away w/out you-

Leave a Reply

