Skip to content
April 21, 2011 / John Sieger

I Want You

Click: I Want You

PERVERSE POINT OF PRIDE #1: Although Bob Dylan, The Beatles and Elvis Costello all have used this title, I felt the need to forge ahead with mine. You have to admit it’s pretty public domain-ish as far as titles go, nothing too memorable about those three simple words. Of course that didn’t stop any of those three aforementioned artists from hitting it out of the park, so yeah… perverse and presumptuous of me.

PERVERSE POINT OF PRIDE #2: When I was in Nashville, I felt I was the only guy screaming. This definitely was a PPOP for me, as so much of the singing in that town seemed to function as an introduction to reasonable, thoughtful and sensitive personalities. It’s like a lot of people were worried about being perceived as not nice! So noboby was screaming, although Delbert McClinton sure had a nice rasp going.

PERVERSE POINT OF PRIDE #3: Not only was no one screaming, I think I was the only guy hitting a high B.  Not the one sopranos hit, but still, almost an octave above middle C. This occurs at about 3:25 and happens three times. After that session they took me to hospital with a ruptured throat. (I’m kidding) This is not an easy note for your average country baritone, so it sounds especially out of place in that setting. This may have had something to do with why I was working at Office Depot rather than raking in the royalty checks.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

