Skip to content
April 16, 2011 / John Sieger

Done The Time

Click: Done The Time

Another classic riff from Feldman. “Done the time—let me do the crime!” Funny in about seventeen ways. If that isn’t enough, in the second verse, the poor fellow is shouting, “I’ve suffed enough.” This is the first and probably last time you will hear suffered contracted that way. I don’t know if he expected that to catch on, but you have to admit it is beautifully ridiculous. I wanted a soul beat for this and The Skeletons nailed it. Lou Whitney, their bass player, spent time with the South’s hottest touring band, The Swinging Medallions, who had a hit in the ’60s with Double Shot Of My Baby’s Love. He knows soul music. Donny Thompson, who used to be a drummer, plays a rhythm so locked in you could set your watch to it. Bobby Lloyd Hicks on drums and Joe Terry on Hammond both toured with Dave Alvin, among others, and they nail this to the floor. I hadn’t listened to this in a while and I’m really enjoying revisiting these songs and performances. One of my favorite memories is sitting between Mike and Lou at the mixing desk and having two of the funniest people I know cracking me up in stereo. You can hear one of them today when Semi-Twang appears on Whad’ya Know?

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

