Skip to content
April 15, 2011 / John Sieger

Nothing Ruins A Man Like A Woman

Click: Nothing Ruins A Man Like A Woman

Sometimes, as I’m singing lyrics that Michael Feldman has written, I feel like I am channeling a very different version  of myself. Certainly a more outspoken and provocative one, take this lyric for example. If by some unlikely event I had thought of this title line, which you have to admit is pretty funny, I never would have gone forward and made it into a song. A little too repressed Catholic, I guess. With the lyrics staring me in the face, featuring such an over-the-top indictment a whole gender, the absurdity and humor were hard to resist and I resorted to my old strategy of taking it very seriously. I was reaching for a kind of depression era grandeur with the melody, evoking a time when bums were bums and dames were classy.  And let me just say that if I could play a solo as beautiful as the one Donny Thompson played in the middle of this song, I would walk around with my chest all puffed out and conceited. First take, if I remember correctly. Guys like him are around to remind you of how it’s really done.

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

