Skip to content
April 12, 2011 / John Sieger

What Is The Measure Of A Man

Click:What Is The Measure Of A Man

This is Whad’ya Know Week. Sem-Twang appears on the show Saturday in Kenosha, the fertile  ground where my collaboration with Michael Feldman began years ago. You can listen this Saturday at noon on Wisconsin Public Radio from 10am till noon. Here is one my favorite lyrics of his that I find very philosophical. (We have also written a song called Philosophy, but it’s less philosophical.) When you get past the obvious jokes about size mattering or not, there actually seems to be a serious question here. How do you judge a man? For someone raised with images of the last judgment, this resonates. How these ideas occur to Mike will always be a pleasant mystery to me—something like this would not have emerged from my imagination. It was fun to try to write a power chord/rockabilly/soul hybrid, but I’m not sure I knew I was doing that at the time. I added a slide guitar, even though I always feel conflicted about it. It usually sounds good, but it’s so danged easy it feels like cheating.

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

