Skip to content
March 31, 2011 / John Sieger

She’s Waiting

Click: She’s Waiting

Not sure what the exact number is, but in a few days, I’ll be entering the six month of posting a different song every day. There have been some postings of different versions, but not that many. Mostly a new song EVERY DAMN DAY! What’s really surprising to me is that I haven’t posted this song, which, if I really had to pick one, might be my favorite. She’s Waiting, heard in this outtake from the R&B Cadets Top Happy album, is a song I could play every night and never get tired of. I’ve often thought what a terrible thing it must be to have a hit you detest and then be forced to play it the rest of your life. Almost as bad (but not really) is to have a song that you feel could be a hit that never reaches a lot of people. Allowing yourself to go down this road isn’t really worth it, as you get into a sad delusional area where you feel the world has cheated you. Instead I would rather concentrate on my very pleasant memories of this song—people always danced when we played it and every time I sang it with Robin Pluer I felt like the luckiest man in music. It’s just a one chord vamp, but it has a bass riff I will stand by. Sometimes less is more, just ask Sly Stone, whose Everyday People thumps on a single bass note all the way to the bank. I didn’t make it there with him, but music can be it’s own little slice of heaven sometimes.

©2011 John Sieger

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pjn / Mar 31 2011 11:05 pm

    Great vocals will carry a one chord vamp any day, and these are killer.

    Thanks for posting this one.

    pjn

    • John Sieger / Mar 31 2011 11:34 pm

      Thanks Paul… you know a thing or two on that subject! I have a Songwriters Anonymous CD for you.

Leave a Reply

