Skip to content
March 24, 2011 / John Sieger

Don’t Open That Door

Click: Don’t Open That Door

It’s much more fun to sing the blues than to live them. If I was writing a memoir and recounting a lot of painful experiences, you probably wouldn’t want to read it. But if I sing about it, you might at least be tempted to dance. That is the wonderful thing about the world I toil in and it will always be the case—once it’s singable, it’s tolerable. But please don’t assume anything about my life from this, all is well with me and a song like this is more imagination exercise than reportage. Many of the characters in my songs don’t want to know what’s going on, their appetite for knowledge has been suppressed by a fear of terrible news. They expect the worst and are more likely to join the Oddfellows Lodge than they are The Optimist’s Club. The pessimist in this one is sure the sky is falling and wants to live in a cave. This ten year old demo is so ragged I almost couldn’t post it, ‘almost’ being the the operative word. In this case I think the song and maybe the vocal redeem it. Though the drum machine and crapped out guitar solo don’t do much for me, I like the feeling that this is the last available key where the singer can hit his high notes.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

