Skip to content
March 22, 2011 / John Sieger

If My Old Man Were Alive Today

Click: If My Old Man Were Alive Today

 

I already did a post about my dad and Michael Feldman’s and the differences between them. I guarantee Mike’s dad didn’t have a scapular pinned to his wife-beater tee and a stogie in his mouth most of the time. Tthis is the very first song we ever wrote together and it is special to me for that reason. The fact that it was inspired by Mike’s cranky neighbor more than his own father makes it less personal than it might seem and perhaps a little funnier. I found out right away that the way to treat Mike’s more comic lyrics was to keep the music as straight as possible—somewhere in the middle it gets interesting. On that same day we wrote a song called Everything Is Going To Turn Around, which is another one I like. Before that I had struggled with lyrics, often not finishing songs. That didn’t happen much after we started writing together, I experienced a surge of energy that blew my stubborn writer’s block right out of the water! Of course, having posted this song and Our Father, I realize I am looking pretty bad for Fathers day.

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

