Skip to content
March 18, 2011 / John Sieger

Me And Somebody Else’s Shadow

Click: Me And Somebody Else’s Shadow

This demo was done the minute this was song was completed, it is still very raw. A little birdie told me to rewrite Me And My Shadow, a nice, uncomplicated and very upbeat standard. Life gets more complicated when you’re walking around dragging somebody else’s shadow. I think I was just plinking and plunking when that phrase occurred to me and it was just that easy to take it from there. And that’s how songs are born, sometimes. Now the rest of life should be that simple, but it isn’t. I’m working on that part and maybe we all are. So, in a way, writing this song about how complicated life can get was as easy and uncomplicated as everything in Me And My Shadow seems to be! You can’t say I’m short of convoluted thoughts today, can you? The drawing above is another way of expressing the twist my thoughts get into at times. What if the dog shadow created by a hand was actually made by a hand with a dog’s body? I might still be overtired from yesterday.

 

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

