Skip to content
March 15, 2011 / John Sieger

Sinkhole

Click: Sinkhole REMIX 3-14-11

I can’t believe how unwittingly topical I have become! I usually write a lot of silly love songs, like my idol Sir Paul, but last fall a new vibe snuck up on me and started knocking around in my brain. I’d like to say that this song was an instant response to the sinkhole that opened up the other day near or on the Humboldt Street bridge, but it was actually written a couple months after the sinkhole on North Avenue swallowed an Escalade. (God doesn’t like those SUVs!) About a month later, my friends Robin Pluer and Kevin Soucie dreamed up an event to help the struggling businesses in that area. They called it, in what was a stroke of extreme cleverness SINKHOLE DE MAYO. I was thrilled to play something as unforgettably named as that. Not much later, this song popped out of the sinkhole of my subconscious. The verse about the poor was inspired by the flood that triggered that minor geological event. There were a lot of homes in Shorewood that suffered terrible damage and people lost many valuable and irreplaceable things, but I couldn’t help but think of the others in less privileged parts of town who might not have had insurance to soften the blow. The whole world seems to be suffering right now, say a prayer for the people of Japan. Our problems cannot compare.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

