Skip to content
March 8, 2011 / John Sieger

Fat Tuesday

Click: Fat Tuesday

There are about 17 million things right about Fats Domino and this drawing I did is about the only thing wrong. Please don’t show it to him. Please don’t play this song for him either, cause that’s me playing piano on it and I don’t think I can handle having Fats laugh at me. I should have stuck with my lessons after fifth grade, but once you have performed The Dance Of The Black Pirates, what’s left really? Had I drilled and drilled, I wouldn’t have had to play this one hand at a time. Oh well. If the Fat Man should happen to hear this, please let him know it is meant as a tribute to him, New Orleans (a town he once walked to in a song) and Fat Tuesday, which, if my Catholic upbringing serves me tight, is the last day before Lent begins. In New Orleans there is a lot to give up for Lent, so they throw quite a party before it starts. Come to think of it, they throw a party for just about anything! Fat Tuesday and Mardi Gras are second only to Christmas in the inspiring-great-songs category. Easter has the Irving Berlin-penned Easter Parade and St. Paddy’s has a bunch of songs that are usually slurred so bad you can’t tell if they are good or bad. Meanwhile down in The Crescent City, they have The Mardis Gras Mambo, a ton of Indian chants like Iko Iko and about a thousand other odes to the hedonistic life. Throw this one on that mountain of New Orleans Pardi Gras tunes and give it up for the amazing Reggie Bordeaux on drums. Have a nice fat day.

 

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

