Skip to content
February 28, 2011 / John Sieger

Two Gradys

Click: Two Gradys

I’ve wanted to write all kinds of songs over the years. I’ve wanted to be light as a feather, like NRBQ, or dead scary, like Johnny Cash. I’ve tried to write soul ballads, country songs, New Orleans eight-bar blues and Chicago twelve-bar blues too! Who am I? Good question, I’m still working on it. I know some guys who have written real good murder ballads (Phil Lee and Robbie Fulks and Gregg Trooper come to mind) and this is my stab, pun intended. I like the story—criminal father versus lawman son in a fatal confrontation. I mean, it’s pitchable as a movie, don’t you think? I’m happy with the words, they’re tough, working class and they get to the point. Still, I don’t know if the murder ballad gene is real strong in me. I kind of feel like I’m trying something on with this one, whether it works or not. My litmus test is always this: Would I want to go around singing this every night? In this case, the answer is some nights maybe, most nights no. If you’re a musician and you don’t want to do something, even if you can’t quite put your finger on the reason, skip it. There are factory jobs available and that’s an honest living, at least. I’ve had a few of those jobs and I’m certainly not going to let music turn into one. That’d be murder!

 

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

