Skip to content
February 27, 2011 / John Sieger

Hey Zoos

Click: Hey Zoos

Sometimes you might want a song to save the world. But we know that never happens in real life. If a song saves your day, that’s a pretty good deal. If it makes you chuckle or scratch your head for a second, it still lands on the plus side of the equation. So novelty or anthem? Roger Miller or The Boss? Can I choose both? Welcome to my identity crisis. Today we go with nonsense—silly word play and a couple chords. Lost in the iTunes library, I almost forgot about it. The lyrics are by Michael Feldman and as much as I’d like to, I can’t go inside his mind to track down where they came from. An oblique reference to a baseball player might have got this stream flowing and my man is all about the flow! So while I can’t stand up in the court of rock criticism and defend this song, I can’t dismiss it either. Listening to it, it makes me laugh and holds the world at bay for two minutes and thirty four seconds. Nobody gets hurt unless Zeuss takes offense and hurls a couple thunderbolts.

©2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

