Skip to content
February 15, 2011 / John Sieger

Rip And Run

Click: Rip And Run

Four track demo from the early ’90s. I came across another batch and I’ll be posting more this week. I was teaching myself how to engineer (something I’m not sure I’ve learned yet) and sitting with a drum machine, my brother Mike’s Silvertone bass and a set of headphones was a type of euphoria for me. The instant band-in-a-box apsect of it was creatively stimulating. So, while these demos are far from slick, I like to share them because I find I still still like the songs and ideas. This one features a heavy downbeat, something I’ve always found funky. A huge emphasis on the first beat of the measure, similar to the old Hamm’s Beer commercial. Rip and run standing in for rock and roll, I guess. If I don’t know what the lyric means, who does? Who cares? This one is supposed to be fun, so let it rip and let it run. I’ve got at least four more from this batch I plan to spring this week. Including one completely forgotten orphan.

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

