Skip to content
February 13, 2011 / John Sieger

I Wanna Make Music

Click: I Wanna Make Music

 

As producer/guitarist extraordinaire, Richard Bennett once said to Phil Lee, “That song ended about a minute before it was over.” That quote truly applies to this “creation.” With the advent of multi-tracking, options never before dreamed of are available to guys like me who, with just the flimsiest excuse of an idea for a tune, add layers of themselves on the rickety scaffolding of their songs. Despite all of these concerns, I’m posting it for all to listen to. I wouldn’t do this if I thought anyone would get hurt or mistake this blog for anything like a serious endeavor. Neither circumstance applies here and so this little goof, intended as a sketch for a possible Subcontinentals tune and then forgotten, will see the light of day. The little breakdowns are my shout out to one of my favorite parts gospel music, when the groove stops and a little testifying goes on. (Believe me, I know this isn’t gospel!) I like the mood, which is light, the message, which is even lighter and the whole gossamer aspect of this one.  Sometimes music isn’t any heavier than your average feather.

 

© 2011 John Sieger

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. dave / Feb 15 2011 11:41 pm

    this sounds a little like Dan Hicks & the Hotlicks , which is a good thing .

Leave a Reply

