Skip to content
February 6, 2011 / John Sieger

I Come To Play

Click: I Come To Play

 

Musicians are rarely tough guys and generally you would expect them to be like others in the creative world who might not be thought of as sports fans. How wrong you is. There are probably some folk musicians and maybe symphony members who shun sports, but the rock’n’rollers, guys who play in bands (and gals) love to watch a good team play a good game. This is because they know the value of teamwork as surely as Mike McCarthy and Dom Capers and they realize that nothing works if it doesn’t work together. After the 2010 Packers, who are in Dallas today taking on the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XLV, my favorite team is Booker T and The MGs. They were the house band at Stax Records and despite their undeniable individual chops played like as if they were one massive and extremely funky instrument. Not a glory hog among them—they only stepped up when necessary and when they did it was special. I’ve got ten bucks in my pocket for anyone who can find one Steve Cropper lick that wasn’t absolutely necessary. There are guys who can do way more than Cropper (and me, for that matter) and human nature being what it is, they generously offer it in every measure of every song. This is the equivalent of a team that tackles itself every play. There are songs and there are game plans and they’re kind of the same thing. They have to be executed with skill and discipline. Today’s song is sports tune from the batch I worked on back when I was trying to be  jingle-licious. I realize now, that I’m not meant to be in that world, but I like this minute-twenty one of attitude. I think Vince Lombardi was looking over my shoulder when I wrote it!

 

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

