Skip to content
February 4, 2011 / John Sieger

I Got No Use For That

Click: I Got No Use For That

It is post 9-11 and I’m on a writing jag. Some of the songs have an edge provided by the recent events, this one in particular. I was trying to express something, not sure what and not sure if I caught anything but a mood. It has Phil Lee on drums and Steve Allen on keyboads. They are both friends from Nashville and just as talented as can be. (Phil is doing a house concert here on March 6th with Eric Brace and myself.) I tried to pull a record together but something didn’t feel right. It was a couple shades darker than I wanted it and was kind of pulling me someplace I didn’t want to go. Hard to explain, but listening now, I don’t get so much of that. I just hear a song and a guy playing some nasty slide. Slide guitar is easy. You can sound instantly sinister and foreboding with little effort. It’s the last resort of a scoundrel, so I try to go easy on it. You never heard Django play bottleneck!

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

