Skip to content
January 31, 2011 / John Sieger

Every Single Soul

Click: Every Single Soul In Town

 

This ballad dates back to a time in Nashville when I was smitten with older styles of music. When I say older, I mean before the ’60s! Hard to believe there was a time when music was recorded, written and thought of in such a different way. Before Dylan (BD) there was little black humor in music and before The Beatles (BTB) there weren’t a lot of bands using words like “disease” in their lyrics. If this makes me sound reactionary, I’m not. I like the White Stripes, The Black Keys and The Flaming Lips—I just don’t think music started last year. So from time to time, I get a wild notion that traditional elements and sentimental lyrics still mean something and I find myself making up a song that’s probably only pitchable to artists who are no longer alive. A song like this one. The lovely electric playing is Bill Dwyer, a friend who senses the inner workings of a song and phrases like a vocalist. I think it may be the super talented Dave Jacques, who now plays with John Prine, on upright bass. I forgot to write all the session details down, in fact I’m not even sure where I recorded it. Here then is my attempt to create a mood long gone, long ago. A romantic ballad without a trace of irony… if I could only work the word “disease” into it.

 

© 2011 John Sieger

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Greg Trooper / Feb 1 2011 1:02 pm

    Nice.

Leave a Reply

