Skip to content
January 28, 2011 / John Sieger

Confucius Say

Click: Confucious Say

Let’s keep this thing as confusing as possible—that’s the way I like to operate. People with answers are really a problem, as they leave you no room to move. Let’s start with the name, Confucius. As you can see, the link for playing the song up above has an “o.” I didn’t know how to spell it when I digitized it and temporarily forgot there was a thing called the google. So, some confusion there. When I wrote this in the early nineties, I was confusing myself with Bob Dylan, though nobody else was. The extremely long line of songwriters who wanted to be Bob included your truly. I eventually came to the conclusion that the job was already being done quite well by Bob #1. Any writer with a lick of ambition has to deal with Dylan, who is really our modern Confucius. He’s right in the middle of the scene, a giant to be dealt with and it’s best not to ignore him. I did no research about the venerable teacher Confucius, so the things I have him saying won’t be appearing in the official biography. Anyway, it’s a good idea not to get too much of your information from songs, they’re not always fair and balanced. I prefer mine unbalanced, in fact. This is another from my early four track cassette collection— lately I’ve been so taken with some of those sounds that I actually purchased a now obsolete Tascam 424. They can be had for very little and sometimes cheap is the way to go. Confucius say, “Cheap is good!”

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

