Skip to content
January 26, 2011 / John Sieger

Jump Right In

Click: Jump Right In

 

This is another collaboration with Perry Lamek. All of these took place in the early ’90s. We were living near UWM in the upper flat of a nice duplex on Hackett and I was busy being Mr. Mom to our then-toddler Sam. It was an adjustment for all parties—I felt I was in some sort of post-Semi-Twang re-orientation project that I hadn’t been told about. I did chip away at the writing thing, though, and the songs I’m finding from that period are all pleasant surprises. It’s a funny feeling to listen to a song you’ve written long ago and sort of forgotten. I have some memory of this one but had kind of filed it under “trying but not quite succeeding to write a Hank tune.” There’s really no way to win in that category because it was already done so well by the original. Listening to it for the first time in years, I find I like it quite a lot, so here it is. All credit goes to Perry for a funny and fully fleshed out lyric—I tend to write fewer lyrics, if only to save myself a lot of memorizing. Again, I’m liking the sound of the 4-track cassette, it does something pleasant to a drum machine and makes me miss my ’66 Tele even more. If you got one laying around you’re not using…

 

© 2011 John Sieger/Perry Lamek

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. PML / Jan 27 2011 1:30 am

    Rest assured, Ol’ Hank never could pull off the Mr. Mom thing.

    • John Sieger / Jan 27 2011 4:52 pm

      Not sure I pulled it off, but I’m still here, as is my kid!

  2. paddy fineran / Jan 30 2011 10:54 pm

    Thanks for all of this music John.

    • John Sieger / Jan 31 2011 11:19 am

      You’re welcome! Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

