Skip to content
January 25, 2011 / John Sieger

The Land Love Left Behind

Click: The Land Love Left Behind

 

Perry Lamek, who wrote the words to this song, was Howie Epstein’s songwriting partner and co-wrote I Fell In Love, the amazing hit by Carlene Carter. When she and Howie were married, they created a combination that was unequaled in destructive power, sort of like when nitro met glycerin. Howie, who was Tom Petty’s bassist, was one of the most gifted musicians to come out of Milwaukee before he was lost to a heroin overdose. The tragedy of that aspect of his life tends to overshadow the many great things he accomplished, including his work as a producer. My favorite John Prine CD, The Missing Years, was one he did. Perry is a writer, with many fine pieces that have appeared in Milwaukee magazine and a wry sense off humor. In the early ’90s I got to set some of his lyrics to music. I like a lot of what we did and of all of them, this downcast, lovelorn song is my favorite. It was demoed on my old Yamaha four track, so sonically speaking, it is pretty ragged. That won’t keep me from enjoying it, but I sure wish we could have gotten Howie as a producer, that might have been special.

 

© 2011 John Sieger/Perry Lamek

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mefeld / Jan 25 2011 11:50 am

    Even though you were cheatin on me, John, love it. Great song. You and Perry should hook up some more, bro. BTW wasn’t that my old Yamaha 4 Track, and, if so, where is it? love ya man, Mikey

    • John Sieger / Jan 25 2011 6:27 pm

      It’s long gone, but I was the legitimate owner. By the time it got to Nashville it was only firing on three…

      • John Sieger / Jan 27 2011 9:43 am

        He would’ve sued me!

  2. PML / Jan 27 2011 1:15 am

    It’s a darn shame Sergio Leone didn’t live long enough to hear this track.

Leave a Reply

