Skip to content
January 23, 2011 / John Sieger

Greedy

Click: Greedy

 

My youngest brother Jim had his own lawn care business for many years. I had suggested names like “The Marquis De Sod” and “The Fescue Squad” which he somehow resisted. There were a couple years when I was one of his slavies and I have many fond memories of hot summer days, Lawn Boy fumes and laughs to and from the jobs, which were spread out over Kenosha County. One of his clients was a bank, with a few branches we  tended to on a weekly basis. One hot July, when I was about as sweaty, wrung out and tired as I’ve ever been, I looked up from the culvert I was mowing and saw a Rolls-Royce motor by with Illinois plates. I kid you not, the vanity plates, stamped by some poor Joliet prisoner, read G-R-E-E-D. This describes how many people in Wisconsin view those from the Land of Lincoln, they just seem so danged greedy! Today, the Packers play the Bears for the NFC title—We get to send that really average bunch of bumblers home to watch football’s stellar team in the Super Bowl. Does that sound greedy?

 

 

© 2011 John Sieger

Leave a Reply

