Skip to content
January 22, 2011 / John Sieger

Even Jesus Don’t Love Me (Rehearsal)

Click: Even Jesus

 

Last summer I had a gig opening for John Hiatt solo at The Barrymore Theater in Madison. This John was nervous, to say the least. I’ve spent the last twenty years on the cusp between solo and band. Usually flying in formation and doing the occasional solo gig on the side—loving acoustic music, but my temperament not necessarily that of the lone wolf. Being part of something bigger is good for someone like me and if forced to choose, being in a band would be the way to go. But… the Hiatt gig. I hurried down to my studio, put up a couple microphones and took out my solo list and started recording and listening, desperate to find a comfort level that wouldn’t evaporate in a bigger room and under a little more pressure than your average corner bar. I chose this song because I’ve done it and liked it from time to time since it was on Her Country. Again, lyrics by M.F., the ultimate expression of self-pity, wouldn’t you say? Jesus, who we know loves everybody, doesn’t much care for the singer. My apologies to any Christians who don’t find either the drawing or song funny, no offense is intended. It’s just me working out some altar boy issues from my childhood.

 

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

