Skip to content
January 8, 2011 / John Sieger

The Birds Fall On Arkansas

Click: Birds Fall On Arkansas

“Blackbirds raining in the dead of night” Lennon McCartney

This was written on demand this week, my lyricist pal Mike thinks he runs the show. Actually, he does. And he likes topical, as anyone who listens to his show opener, All The News That Isn’t, can attest. I tend to stay away from anything recent, but the idea that a song might outlive it’s short news cycle relevance is intriguing to me. Can it? I don’t know, but bad ones surely are doomed to the dustbin of history. I love those redwing blackbirds — always glad to see them in the spring. I was once told that they are the most common bird in America. Even so, I don’t think we can afford to have them dropping out of the sky in these kind of numbers. The fish which died further upstate (there were 50,000 or so) were spoken of as almost an afterthought on the news. That’s amazing to me, I think you ask any fish or bird, they probably think both developments are shocking!

Watch it on youtube: Tweet!

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

