Skip to content
January 6, 2011 / John Sieger

Never Get That Lonely

Click: Never Get That Lonely

 

I have a thing about the magic number lately, ever since I read Bob Dylan’s “Chronicles.” He talks about a period in the ’80s when he was approaching a state of burnout and how a tip from an older blues artist (can’t remember which one and I’m too lazy to grab the book) helped him put some zing back in performance. It involved some mumbo-jumbo about the number three, using it to phrase off the beat somehow. Confusing, yet somehow I think I got what he was saying. This waltz with lyrics by Michael Feldman attempts to do a ‘three’ thing that interests me — rocking a waltz. It’s not exactly Jimi Hendrix’s Manic Depression or Ray Charles’ Busted, but few songs are and I think I can live with that. This is one of the first demos my son Sam played on. His time is getting better as he gets a little more experience — he’s turning into a pretty darn good drummer. It must feel odd to record with your dad, I’m glad he tolerates the occasional request. In my case that would have involved trying to play guitar on material like You’ll Never Walk Alone or The Whiffenpoof Song by the Snap-On Male Chorus. Good thing they never asked. Mr Waltz, the anatomic anomaly pictured above, occurred to me as I was about to go into a deep panic about the visuals. If people had three legs, the waltz would be second (or should I say third?) nature to them. Think how they would look in jeggings!

 

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. JohnParrott / Jan 6 2011 8:53 am

    That part of the book mystified me, but I think it was about tones and intervals rather than time signatures. I showed it to several theory folks whose opionions I respect, and as sometimes happens with Bob, no one could figure out what Bob was talking about. Worked for him, though, and it works for you…

    • John Sieger / Jan 6 2011 7:25 pm

      Those who can, do! He’s uniformly terrible on articulating what he does and great at doing it.

      • JohnParrott / Jan 7 2011 9:38 pm

        Amen, and that goes for his radio show.

Leave a Reply

