Skip to content
January 4, 2011 / John Sieger

My Bed Of Thorns

Click here, carefully: My Bed Of Thorns

 

Greetings, music majors, I have a problem you might be able to help me with. Does this song feature a chord change every beat? It feels like it does, but I guess it would depend on how you count it. Al Anderson of that spectacularly great and sadly late band, NRBQ, has a song called You’re So Beautiful that changes at this pace. Watch it here. (He played it for me once in an airport and it was a high point in my life.) I wish I could say that this song is in the same category as his, but it has a few things that need tending to. I won’t be telling you what they are because I have resolved not to point out every little flaw in things I do. You’ll have to guess. I find the hardest kind of song to write is a happy song. In that category, I would put Happy Song by Otis Redding, it’s a song so dang good, you should go download it now. I’ll wait ’til you get back… Back? OK. The group I mentioned, NRBQ? They were absolute geniuses at happy songs, silly moods and joyful mayhem. It is much easier to write a sad song — any fool can do it, but the upside is a lot of sad songs make you feel good. I hope this one does that for you.

 

© 2011 John Sieger

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Scott Wooldridge / Jan 4 2011 9:39 am

    Sounds good to me John. The first pass through the chord changes made me think of Corrina Corrina and it’s pretty dylanesque all the way through–which is to say I like it a lot.

    Listening to it makes me want to hear it as a piano song for some reason. Might make it a bit more somber but I think it might work.

    (I think I do hear a chord repeat for two beats here and there)

    • John Sieger / Jan 4 2011 4:13 pm

      Thanks Scott! Glad you like it and I confess to my total infatuation with the Zim! Maybe you can do a piano track for me sometime.

  2. don / Jan 4 2011 6:27 pm

    Otis (How could that voice not make anyone happy)? and, Wilson? Al? Aretha? MO’town? Yes! Can’t ever omit Richie, though. NRBQ? Remember ’em, but damned if I could recall the name of even one song they ever did until your Post sent me curiously listening. Like your “Bed of Thorns” better than Their “Beautiful”! Definitely Dylanesque, but that’s G-O-O-D! I could almost hear a Leslie there somewhere. Nah, just wishful thinkin’. Chords, beats, adjustments? Who cares? Sounds really good. I like it. Don’t even care about what kinda’ “gear” ya’ used. LOL Catchy song.

  3. Greg trooper / Jan 6 2011 6:20 am

    Dude. This one kills me and I go to heaven!

    • John Sieger / Jan 6 2011 12:14 pm

      Wow, thanks Greg! Love your new record, but I already told you that.
      John

  4. Annie Dubats / Jan 7 2011 11:44 am

    Catholic

    • John Sieger / Jan 7 2011 5:19 pm

      That would be “crown of thorns!”

Leave a Reply

