Skip to content
January 2, 2011 / John Sieger

Our Father

Click Here: Our Father

 

I’m not a confessional songwriter. When I hear songs with topics torn from the headlines of the singer’s life, I wonder how they do it. This is not to say that one way is better or worse, just that, in my case, I need about ten years to digest personal experiences and then when I’m ready to say something about them, I have to do it in a heavily disguised way. I am a confessional blogger though, and as such I must let you know that this song, with it’s touching lyrics about a dad, is not about my father, it’s about Michael Feldman’s. He lost his dad when he was quite young and still has very fond memories of him. I love the line “his eyes look back at me from the mirror, just as blue, but his see clearer.” I couldn’t write something like that and it’s not just talent that prevents me. His experience in the father department was very different from mine, I wouldn’t be motivated to write a tribute like that, even if I was the confessional type. This song required some imagination on my part — it put me in the odd position of singing about someone else’s father as if he were mine and I do love the sentiment in it, even if there is a veracity problem! As for the recording, I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to get that electric guitar sound again, it was just the right amp setting and probably my old Danelectro. I like the way it’s around and away from the acoustic, sort of the ghost in the mix. I would go with that sound every time if I had had the foresight to write down the settings on all the gear I was using. It’s probably it’s a good thing I didn’t— don’t want to go to the well too often. The middle has four tracks of the “John Sieger Brothers,” as Feldman calls them, doing a faux-gospel back up, and the end finds me scatting in falsetto for the second time this year. Can I keep it up for all of 2011?  Not a chance!

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

