Skip to content
January 1, 2011 / John Sieger

Everything Is Going To Turn Around

Click Here: Everything Is Going To Turn Around

First thing you should know is that this is the second song I wrote with Michael Feldman. That would be the late ’70s, many New Year’s celebrations ago. The song seemed like a good one to start the year with — the title suggests our ever spinning home, the one we take for granted until one day all those revolutions bring another year. I like the hopefulness in the lyric and I wanted music to cycle lazily through this simple two chord riff and melody. It’s meant to lull you, but now when I think about it, maybe a really loud trombone solo in the middle would shake things up nicely. The amazing guitar on the intro and outro and other places is none other than Willy Porter. He’s a fantastic musician and singer and was gracious enough to stop over at the house one day and lay his indisputable talent on this song. I’d like to say the scat singing at the end isn’t me, but I’ll fess up. If I had access to these files, I might think about a peppier vocal and a few more stabs at the scatting. But I think I can live with it for now. I hope this tune helps with any hangover you might be feeling from last night or last year and that 2011 is especially kind to all of you. Happy New Year!

© 2011 John Sieger/Michael Feldman

Leave a Reply

